The Shut-Away Sisters : A gripping and utterly heartbreaking historical novel

$1.49

‘Wonderful… I felt sad once I’d finished this book as I enjoyed it so much. I wish I could give it more stars.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

She paid a terrible price to keep her sister’s secret…

Florrie and Edith, two devoted sisters, have lived in their little house with threadbare carpets in the East End of London since they were children in the war. But while their neighbours know Florrie as a bright-eyed, kind elderly lady, they always wonder why Edith never leaves the house.

Years later, Kate, their great niece, comes to sort out their things. Kate is running from a broken relationship, and as she sits amongst the dusty furniture, looking at old photos of Florrie during the war, she recognises the change in her aunt – from a carefree young girl laughing with her friends to a young woman with dark sad eyes, always by herself.

Desperate to find out more about Florrie and Edith, Kate is shocked to discover an untouched wedding dress wrapped in tissue paper in a bottom drawer and a locked room at the end of a passage upstairs without a key. What could her aunts have been hiding?

And as she reads entries from her great-aunt’s diaries she is transported back to a time where the German bombs rained down on London and a seventeen-year-old girl was forced to give up everything to keep her sister’s secret. Can Kate ever understand the darkness that has bound her family together? And if she does, will she be able to move on from it?

A heartbreaking historical novel of war, tragedy and the sacrifices we make for those we love. Fans of Fiona Valpy, Kristin Hannah and Victoria Hislop will be hooked by The Shut-Away Sisters.

What everyone is saying about The Shut Away Sisters :

‘My first Suzanne Goldring novel and I hope it's not my last! I loved this story, I cried in places and was so hopeful in others. A wonderful read.’ Karen Loves Reading, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘It had me crying at times. For a great historical fiction read make sure you don’t miss this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A warm and wonderful book!... For me, this story was a page-turner right from the beginning.’ The Retired Book Lady

‘Lovely read. thoroughly enjoyable and keeps you guessing … Would highly recommend’ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Goldring gives us a picture of two strong women who overcome the obstacles that are put in their path and are better people because of it… a lovely read for those who enjoy stories that weave the past and future together.’ My Book Babbles, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I loved this book!’ Fictionvixenreads

‘A beautifully written story.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What everyone is saying about Suzanne Goldring:

I could not put this book down, and heaven help anyone that tried to disturb my reading!! I absolutely loved this book! I laughed, I cried, I cheered… what a fantastic read.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I just couldn't put this one down. I loved every page and I went through an entire box of tissues before I was done. You will keep turning the pages until the very end because you just won't be able to put it down at all.’ Crossroad Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

It made me cry at so many points… It left me completely hooked and towards the end I just couldn’t put the book down!’ Stardust Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



Languages

English

File Size

1716 KB

Page Count

358 pages

Publication Date

29 June 2021

Customer Reviews

1-5 of 3 reviews

  • Kindle Customer

    Shut Away but Not Forgotten
    I was fully engrossed in this story of a family coping with the effects of the first world war while living in London.The mystery of the two sisters living together for their whole lives, and the kindness of many of the characters made this an enjoyable read.

    December 9, 2021
  • Susanne

    A fascinating tale of life on the British home front in WWI.
    Beautifully written and attention to detail never boring. Connecting two generations makes for an interesting read.The lives of people during the war always fascintes me. Interesting to read about the first world war from England’s point of viewand their survival. Definitely recommend this book!

    December 9, 2021
  • Carolyn Handley

    Very good storyl, well worth reading, no spoilers
    I really enjoyed this book! I loved reading about the wartime girls as well as the modern day woman. Everything gelled really well for me. The wartime story was so sad and so painful, but beautifully told. I loved the ending! All in all it was a totally satisfying read and I am looking forward to reading more from this author.

    December 9, 2021

Write a Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *